The grape varieties

It is a remarkable fact that at the end of the 19th century, the Jura had over 40 distinct grape varieties spread out across its 20 000 hectares. The arrival of Phylloxera, progressive selection and the Appellation decrees of 1936 and 1937 reduced this number to a mere five.

This means that our vines, on average 25 years old, are composed of the varieties Chardonnay and Savagnin for the white grapes, and Ploussard, Trousseau and Pinot Noir for the red grapes.

Ploussard
⇒ 4,50 ha on our domaine
These oval, thin skinned grapes are juicy and form in bunches that are loosely constructed. The leaves are large and well lobed, light green in colour with long tendrils. This plant does not like late frosts. It is the perfect adaptation of this variety to its environment, and its originality, that has won for Pupillin, in the heart of the Jura wine region, the title of the “World Capital of Ploussard”.

Trousseau
4 ha on our domaine
It is a variety that is rare because it is very difficult to cultivate. It represents only 8% of the grapes grown in the Jura wine region. The grapes are black and plump; its rounded leaves turn reddish in autumn.

Pinot
3,50 ha on our domaine
It has a thick, darkly coloured skin which gives a lot of colour to the wine ; small leaves and very tight bunches of grapes.

Chardonnay
9 ha on our domaine
This white grape variety is the most widespread in the eastern vineyards. The round, rather small grapes are golden yellow and juicy, very sweet, fine skinned but resistant, they form in tight bunches. The leaves are slightly lobed and pale green.

Savagnin
⇒ 4 ha on our domaine
Round, plump and crisp, these grapes have a fine and delicate flavour, a thick skin, and take on a golden colour as the season advances. Bunches are small and tight. The leaves are medium sized, dark green but pale on the underside, which is covered with a light down.

Les cépages

Fait notable dans la viticulture, le Jura compte à la fin du XIXe siècle, plus de 40 cépages distincts répartis sur 20000 hectares. Le phylloxéra, les sélections progressives et les décrets d’appellation de 1936 et 1937 réduiront la partition à cinq notes.

Ainsi, nos vignes agées en moyenne de 25 ans, sont composées des cépages Chardonnay et Savagnin en raisins blancs, Ploussard, Trousseau et Pinot en raisins rouges.

Ploussard

⇒ 4,50 ha sur notre domaine
Ses grains ovoïdes à pellicule mince sont juteux, en belles grappes peu serrées. Les feuilles sont larges et très découpées, de couleur vert clair avec de longues vrilles. Ce plant craint les gelées tardives. C’est la parfaite adaptation de ce cépage à son terroir qui vaut à Pupillin son originalité reconnue au sein du vignoble jurassien en tant que Capitale Mondiale du Ploussard.

Trousseau

4 ha sur notre domaine
C’est un cépage rare d'une très grande exigeance. Il représente seulement 8% de l’encépagement Jurassien. Ses grains sont noirs et charnus, ses feuilles arrondies prennent une couleur rougeâtre à l’Automne.

Pinot
3,50 ha sur notre domaine
Il présente une peau épaisse et très colorée qui apportera beaucoup de couleur au vin. Il présente des feuilles petites et des grappes très serrées.

Chardonnay

9 ha sur notre domaine
Ce cépage blanc est le plus répandu des vignobles de l’est. Ces grains ronds plutôt petits d’un jaune doré sont juteux, très sucrés, à pellicule fine mais résistante en grappes serrées. Les feuilles sont peu découpées, d’un vert clair.

Savagnin
⇒ 4 ha sur notre domaine
Les grains ronds, charnus et croquants, d’une saveur fine et délicate, à pellicule épaisse, prennent une couleur dorée avec l’avancement de la saison sur des grappes petites et serrées. Les feuilles sont moyennes, d’un vert foncé et pâle sur le revers pourvu d’un léger duvet.
 

0

NEWSLETTER

LIVRAISON

ENGAGEMENTS

Pour vous, nous nous engageons sur des critères précis...

Partenaires :
mentions légales - réalisation Amenothès Conception
Domaine Désiré Petit

Rue Ploussard 39600 PUPILLIN
Tél. : (+33) 3 84 66 01 20 - Fax : (+33) 3 84 66 26 59
Email : contact@desirepetit.com

Horaire d'ouverture du caveau :

Du lundi au vendredi
8h00 - 12h00 // 14h00 - 18h30

Samedi et dimanche et jours fériés
9h00 - 12h00 //
14h30 - 18h00